Full results of 2017 Cap Classique bubbly shootout available… finally…

AFTER MUCH anticipation, the trophy laureates at the 2017 Amorim Cap Classique Challenge were announced at an awards function in Cape Town: Simonsig Cuvée Royale Blanc de Blancs 2012 (overall winner), Domaine des Dieux Claudia Brut 2011 and Simonsig Woolworths Pinot Noir Rosé 2015, as well as Graham Beck Brut Zero 2005 in the Museum Class for wines no longer on sale but entered to show the development/maturation potential of top sparkling wine made by the traditional method involving fermentation in bottle.

However, what wasn’t announced until some days later were the names of the runners-up among the 97 competition entries, which included some lovely gold and silver medallists – see below. The judges were Heidi Duminy CWM (chair), sommelier Higgo Jacobs, wine educator Cathy Marston, plus winemakers Elunda Basson (JC Le Roux & Pongrácz) and Johan Malan (Simonsig). “The scores of the producer-judges were not taken into account for their own wines.”


Domaine des Dieux Claudia Brut 2011
Simonsig Cuvée Royale Blanc de Blancs 2012
Simonsig Woolworths Pinot Noir Rosé 2015

Babylonstoren Sprankel 2012
Boschendal Brut Rosé NV
Boschendal Jean Le Long Prestige Cuvée Blanc de Blancs 2007
Desiderius Pongrácz 2003 (JC Le Roux)
Domaine des Dieux Rose of Sharon Brut Rosé 2010
Graham Beck Brut Rosé 2012
Graham Beck Brut Zero 2005
JC Le Roux Scintilla 2011
KWV Cathedral Cellar Brut 2011
Laborie Brut 2014
Lourensford Brut 2011
Nitida The Matriarch 2015
Simonsig Kaapse Vonkel Brut 2015

Babylonstoren Sprankel 2011
Bon Courage Jacques Bruére Blanc de Blancs 2010
Bon Courage Jacques Bruére Brut Reserve 2010
Bon Courage Jacques Bruére Brut Rosé 2010
Boschendal Brut NV
Boschendal Grande Cuvée Brut 2013
Christina van Loveren Brut NV
Colmant Brut Chardonnay NV
Colmant Brut Reserve NV
Creation Elation Brut Nature 2014
Desiderius Pongrácz 2009 (JC Le Roux)
Durbanville Hills Blanc de Blancs 2014
Graham Beck Brut Blanc de Blancs 2012
Graham Beck Brut Zero 2012
JC Le Roux Pinot Noir Rosé 2012
Klein Constantia Brut 2013
Kleine Zalze Brut NV
Kleine Zalze Brut Rosé NV
Laborie Blanc de Blancs 2011
Laborie Brut Rosé 2015
Lord’s Brut 2014
Lord’s Brut Rosé NV
Môreson Pink NV
Paul René Brut 2014 (Wonderfontein)
Pongrácz NV  (JC Le Roux)
Silverthorn Jewel Box 2013
Simonsig Kaapse Vonkel Brut 2007
Simonsig Kaapse Vonkel Brut 2010
Spier Brut 2014
Steenberg Lady R Méthode Cap Classique 2012
Uitkyk Glass Memoires Extra Brut 2012
Viljoensdrift Villion Blanc de Blanc 2009
Villiera Monro Brut 2011
Waterford Blanc de Blancs 2009
Wildekrans Brut Rosé 2013
Wildekrans Méthode Cap Classique Chenin Blanc 2013

The names of the bronze medal winners as well as more info about the competition and sparkling wine made according to the traditional method are available from the Cap Classique Association. There is also a brief video clip of ‘speechless’ Simonsig winemaker Hannes Meyer after receiving his trophy courtesy of Amorim.


Want to have your say?