Two SA Shiraz at under R100 a bottle among winners of 2016 Challenge

Shiraz SA Challenge TOP12 jpg (NV)THE WINNERS at the 2016 Shiraz SA Challenge include four of the wines with the best track records over the past 10 years in terms of the Top Wine SA Shiraz Classification: Cederberg, Eagles’ Nest (Constantia), Fairview Eenzaamheid (Paarl) and Saronsberg (Tulbagh). Moreover, many among the top dozen vintages on this occasion had already received high praise during the previous 12 months: Alto 2013 at Syrah du Monde, Cederberg 2014 at Mondial and the Top 100 SA Wine Challenge, Fairview Eenzaamheid 2013 at the 2015 Shiraz SA Challenge and the 2016 Top 100 SA Wine Challenge, Rickety Bridge 2013 at the Top 100 SA Wine Challenge, Saronsberg 2014 at Mondial and Windmeul Reserve 2013 at the Michelangelo awards.

The Windmeul Reserve also stands out as one of the best value Shiraz options on the market: R95 a bottle at the cellar. Another at under R100 a bottle is the 2014 Laborie Limited Collection at R85 from the farm, also in Paarl. And for more Shiraz recommendations, see here for all the top-rated wines together with the cellar-door prices.

The 2016 Shiraz SA Challenge involved some 200 entries judged over three days by a panel of seven: Andy Roediger CWM (chair), Cathy van Zyl MW, wine managers Francois Naudé (Rhebokskloof), Pearl Oliver (Taj Hotel) and Mark Norrish (Ultra Liquors), winemaker Charles Hopkins (De Grendel) and Dave March CWM. All of the winning wines will be available for tasting at the Shiraz Showcase to be held on the evening of 21 June at the CTICC.

Winning Wines at Shiraz SA Challenge 2016


Alto Shiraz 2013
Babylonstoren Shiraz 2014
Cederberg Shiraz 2014
DeMorgenzon Reserve Syrah 2014
Eagles’ Nest Shiraz 2013
Fairview Eenzaamheid Shiraz 2013
KWV The Mentors Shiraz 2013
Laborie Limited Collection Shiraz 2014
Rickety Bridge Shiraz 2013
Saronsberg Shiraz 2014
Strandveld Syrah 2012
Windmeul Reserve Shiraz 2013


Alvi’s Drift Albertus Viljoen 2012
Eikendal Charisma 2013
Middelvlei Momberg 2013


Brampton Shiraz 2014
Credo Shiraz 2012 (Stellenbosch Vineyards)
Credo Shiraz Merlot Viognier 2012 (Stellenbosch Vineyards)
D’Aria SV Shiraz 2013
De Grendel Shiraz 2014
Guardian Peak Summit 2013
Haut Espoir Shiraz 2008
Landskroon Paul de Villiers Shiraz 2013
Montpellier Shiraz 2011
Oude Denneboom Black Harrier Shiraz 2014 (Vendôme)
Spier Creative Block 3 2013 (Blend)