Eagles’ Nest Shiraz destined for Hall of Fame following first place at Michelangelo

Michelangelo - GOLD 2015 STILL_0000 (jpeg) (smaller)THE 2015 Michelangelo International Wine & Spirits Awards attracted 1665 entries from 364 producers for assessment by panels comprising judges from around the world. Seventeen specialists from 15 countries deliberated over six days in choosing the various class winners, trophy laureates and recipients of platinum, double gold, gold and silver medals. Platinum denotes a score of 96 or more out of 100, with the Grand Prix Trophy for the top-scoring wine overall in this year’s competition going to Eagles’ Nest Shiraz 2012 of Constantia.

Eagles’ Nest has been one of the most highly rated and consistently praised Shiraz/Syrah wines of South Africa going back to the 2006 vintage, and the 2012 had already gathered quite a bit of gold and silverware before wowing the Michelangelo jury. Top Shiraz in Constantia and one of the Top 10 in the country over the past 10 years. Worthy champion indeed!


• Carrol Boyes Pinot Noir Chardonnay 2011 – Best Cap Classique Sparkling Wine
• Conradie Pinotage 2013 – Best ‘Coffee Pinotage’
• Diemersdal Woolworths Merlot Malbec Res 2014 – Best ‘French Style Red Blend’
• Eagles’ Nest Shiraz 2012 – Grand Prix trophy for top-scoring wine
• KWV Cape Tawny 1948 (Port) – Best ‘Golden Oldie’
• Lanzerac Pinotage 2013 – Best Pinotage
• Nuy White Muscadel 2007 – Grand Prix trophy for top-scoring dessert wine
• Rhebokskloof Flat Rock Red 2013 – Best Cape Blend

Trophies were also presented for the following wines: Lazanou Syrah Mourvèdre 2013 (Organic), Van Loveren’s Tangle Tree Reserve 2013 (Fairtrade Red), Koopmanskloof Sauvignon Blanc 2015 (Fairtrade White), De Krans Méthode Cap Classique (Most Innovative), Hofstraat’s Renosterbos Cabernet Sauvignon 2013 (Garagiste)


• Badsberg Cape Vintage 2009 (Port)
• Bon Courage Inkará Shiraz 2013
• De Grendel Rubaiyat 2013 (Red Blend)
• De Wet Cellar Cravate Brut 2010 (MCC)
• Flagstone Writer’s Block Pinotage 2013
• Jason’s Hill Merlot 2013
• Klein Tulbagh Shiraz 2013 (Tulbagh Winery)
• Ondine Chenin Blanc 2013 (Ormonde)
• Robertson Winery Pinot Noir 2014
• SAAM Mountain Middelburg Chenin Blanc 2013 (Perdeberg)
• Waterlily Merlot 2013 (Bloemendal)
• Wildekrans Barrel Select Shiraz 2013
• Windmeul Chardonnay 2015

For the names of all the medal winners and more information about the Michelangelo Awards, click here.